Positive Mental Attitude!! PMA!!

Firstly, sorry for not posting yesterday… really busy one!

So, I read my blog back to myself and realised, I had started to fall into a hole of worry and negativity. A comment from one of my readers Emma, made me realise that I was looking at this recovery the wrong way and that needed to change!

I went to bed with a promise to myself that tomorrow I would wake up in a positive frame of mind!

You know what?? I did! I woke up after a pretty good nights sleep with my alarm clock waking me to tell me to take my painkillers and Antibiotics instead of the usual waking up every hour hoping it is time! The Leg Bully didn’t arrive, and there was only a lingering of the dead leg given yesterday.

After doing my exercises, I got up and headed downstairs. Pippa had already gone off to work and it was a nice day outside. I stepped out into the garden and looked around. I do love my Garden! The Bird feeder needed re-filling so I did that, then I looked at my (what should be) veg patch… there were weeds all over it and it really needed digging over… I didn’t delude myself into thinking that I could manage that, but I did go to the shed, get the weed killer and go at those pesky dandelions and thistles like they were invading aliens trying to take over my world!

After doing these positive things I felt great! these were the first “real” things I had done since my op and it felt great to be even a little bit useful. Next I knew that we were having Chinese style pork stir-fry for tea, and that the marinade for the pork needed doing. Those that know me know I love to cook! So, I painstakingly gathered all of the ingredients to a single area so I could work and away I went!

I was back! good old positive me, could see that this isn’t all that bad! And even if I can’t do everything right now… there is still a lot that I can do, and I am in a MUCH better position than a lot of people!

Now, either someone from the NHS has been reading my Blog, or I’m a lucky so and so, because that afternoon I got a phone call from a physiotherapist saying I had an NHS appointment at 16:30 today! I’m not retracting my previous blog because my thoughts on that still stand but, sometimes the NHS can surprise you!

My parents turned up for a visit (which is always nice!) and ended up staying for tea. We needed some more meat (and wine for my Mum!!) so Dad decided to walk to the shop. I was feeling good so decided to go with him. I got there and back with no problem, its not all that far but further than I had walked before now and it felt really good!

Last night I turned off my 04:00 alarm hoping that I would sleep right through… unfortunately at 05:00 I woke up needing my pain relief…. getting better though!! This morning I woke up and again, the Dead leg Bully wasn’t around… I’m now hoping I’ve seen the last of him! I have to say after the amount I did yesterday on my leg, I was expecting to pay for it today!

I’ve now dropped to 1 crutch whilst in the house and that seems to be going well too!! I can get around fine and it makes life SO much easier having a spare hand to carry things with etc. I’m off to my physio appointment now so we will see how that goes! then its off out for a meal for Pippa’s Mum’s Birthday!

At the moment, Life is GOOD and I think a lot of it comes down to that switch in attitude! so remember PMA!!!

Leave a comment